Finance

Director: Tyler Christian
E-mail: tchrist2@nd.edu

Director: Danny Willett
E-mail: dwillett@nd.edu

Mission

To provide participants ample opportunities to apply financial valuation models in first hand, real world applications. Through project participation and dialogues with industry experts, members expand their financial lexicon, foster meaningful contacts, and develop essential business skills and professional etiquette from which to build a career.

Fall 2017 Projects

Bank of Montreal Capital Markets

Meeting Time: Mondays at 7:00pm in DeBartolo 136

Project Leaders: Bryan Lim (blim3@nd.edu) and Annie McVeigh (amcveigh@nd.edu)

Bank of Montreal Capital Markets

Participants will perform the job of a Leveraged Finance professional in the Investment Banking industry. Students will conduct credit, financial, and market analyses, and evaluate three proposed LBO financing structures to support a Private Equity sponsor’s bid to take a company private. The project will culminate in a presentation at BMO Capital Market’s Chicago office. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame Students and simulates the analysis that a Leveraged Finance banker would present to its Private Equity clients.

Credit Suisse

Meeting Time: Mondays at 8:00pm in DeBartolo 131

Project Leaders: Ben Coles (wcoles@nd.edu ) and Johnny Mullen (John.R.Mullen.52@nd.edu)

Credit Suisse

Participants will act as investment banking analysts seeking to take a company public. Participants will construct a pitchbook describing investment highlights, risk factors, and valuation. Valuation will include discounted cash flow and multiples analysis

GCM Grosvenor

Meeting Time: Mondays at 7:00pm in DeBartolo 131

Project Leaders: Tom Bauer (tbauer1@nd.edu) and Daniel Delfico (dedelfico@nd.edu/a>)

GCM Grosvenor

Participants will engage in a  analysis of potential hedge funds across a variety of industries. This project is designed to put students in the shoes of an portfolio manager at GCM Grosvenor.  Students will ultimately choose a hedge fund to invest in and travel to Chicago to present their findings.

Goldman Sachs - Corporate Strategic Advisory

Meeting Time: Separate Meeting Rooms

Project Leaders: Janne Fuss (jfuss@nd.edu)

Goldman Sachs - Corporate Strategic Advisory

Intended to provide students with a birds-eye view of main investment banking product offerings. Explore different strategic options to unlock value from an undervalued company. Topics include: Leveraged Finance, Merger and Acquisition, Structured Finance and Securitization

  • Applications are required, as there are a limited number of competitive spots available.

GTCR

Meeting Time: Mondays at 7:30pm in DeBartolo 131, Mondays at 8:30pm in DeBartolo 131

Project Leaders: Bobbi Sun (Roberta.B.Sun.67@nd.edu) and Will Tuchfarber (wtuchfar@nd.edu), Liam Bryson (wbryson@nd.edu) and Yuchen Zhou (yzou1@nd.edu)

GTCR

Participants will act as associates in a private equity fund seeking to perform a heavily debt-financed leverage buyout of a public company. Teams will first examine companies, trends, and characteristics of the industry before the target buyout company is chosen. The target company will be valued using discounted cash flow modeling, precedent transactions, and comparable company trading multiples. The final step of the project will be creating a leverage buyout model and an investment recommendation for GTCR.

Houlihan Lokey

Meeting Time: Mondays at 8:00pm in DeBartolo 136

Project Leaders: Michael Catalano (mcatalan@nd.edu) and Kaitlin Kramer (kkramer6@nd.edu )

Houlihan Lokey

Project offers an in-depth look in to the analysis related to advising distressed companies. Students will think critically and use their financial analysis in different ways to identify the most appropriate strategic alternative for the company moving forward. Students will evaluate various strategies from the perspective of all relevant stakeholders, such as managers, owners, and creditors

JP Morgan

Meeting Time: Mondays at 9:00pm in DeBartolo 136

Project Leaders: Sullivan Curry (scurry@nd.edu) and Chang Jung (cjung2@nd.edu)

JP Morgan

Morgan Stanley

Meeting Time: Separate Meeting Rooms

Project Leaders: Kevin Marks (Kevin.A.Marks.24@nd.edu) and Yiling Zhou (Yiling.Zhou.65@nd.edu)

Morgan Stanley

Two teams of students will be selected to serve as financial advisors to the two respective merger parties. Each team presents to its respective client that broadly discusses the companies’ performance and position. Ultimately, the advantages and considerations regarding a potential merger and valuation.

Students will present to Morgan Stanley professionals. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame Students and simulates the work that Morgan Stanley would do for a legitimate client.

  • Applications are required, as there are a limited number of competitive spots available.

Morningstar

Meeting Time: Mondays at 8:30pm in DeBartolo 136

Project Leaders: Ben Auwaerter (bauwaert@nd.edu) and Emily Feczko(Emily.M.Feczko.6@nd.edu)

Morningstar

Morningstar is a market leader in investment research. This project takes students through valuation methods in determining buy, sell, or hold guidance on a stock and will consist of a blend of quantitative and qualitative analysis.

The project will culminate in a presentation to Morningstar in Chicago. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame Students and simulates the work that Morningstar would do in creating their equity research.

RCM Alternatives

Meeting Time: Mondays at 7:30pm in DeBartolo 136

Project Leaders: Raymond Blajda (rblajda@nd.edu) and Philip Park(Kunwoo.P.Park.106@nd.edu)

RCM Alternatives

Members will simulate a quantitative investment experience by building out a factor model used for trading and risk management. Through industry and company research, members will identify major drivers of share price performance. Members will ultimately build a factor model to identify profit opportunities 

Students will travel to RCM Alternative’s Chicago office to present and defend their findings. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame Students and will not be used for any trading of real funds.

Robert W. Baird - M&A

Meeting Time: Mondays at 6:30pm in DeBartolo 136

Project Leaders: Billy Barth (William.J.Barth.15@nd.edu) and Connor Dillon (cdillon3@nd.edu)

Robert W. Baird - M&A

Participants will analyze a potential merger or acquisition. The project will consist of a blend of quantitative and qualitative analysis from equity research and investment banking. Topics will range from simple company overviews to advanced modeling, group members will learn plenty, regardless of their experience level.

Students will present to Robert W. Baird in the Chicago office. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame Students and simulates the advisory services that Baird would present to a client.

William Blair

Meeting Time: Mondays at 9:00pm in DeBartolo 131

Project Leaders: Nick Bufalino (Nicholas.J.Bufalino.9@nd.edu) and Chris Skomra cskomra@nd.edu)

William Blair

Participants will apply qualitative and quantitative valuation techniques to analyze a hypothetical merger between two companies. Students will be guided by bankers at William Blair in order to better understand the M&A process and associated components. Students will travel to William Blair headquarters in Chicago to present their analysis. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame students and simulates the advisory services that Blair would present to a client.