Spring 2018

Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Meeting Time: Mondays at 8:00pm in Debartolo 129

Project Leaders: Caoimhe MacRunnels (cmacrunn@nd.edu)

Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Students will conduct credit, financial, and market analyses, and evaluate three proposed LBO financing structures to support a Private Equity sponsor’s bid to take a company private. The project will be traveling to New York City.

  • This is an application only project, and selected participants have been notified.

Bank of Montreal Capital Markets

Meeting Time: Mondays at 6:00pm in Debartolo 129

Project Leaders: Creighton Kling (bkling@nd.edu) Erin Shang (yshang1@nd.edu), and Ben Lampe (blampe1@nd.edu)

Bank of Montreal Capital Markets

Participants will perform the job of a Leveraged Finance professional in the Investment Banking industry. Students will conduct credit, financial, and market analyses, and evaluate three proposed LBO financing structures to support a Private Equity sponsor’s bid to take a company private. The project will culminate in a presentation at BMO Capital Market’s Chicago office. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame Students and simulates the analysis that a Leveraged Finance banker would present to its Private Equity clients.

Buyside

Meeting Time: Mondays at 7:00pm in Debartolo 138

Project Leaders: Donald Reed (dreed5@nd.edu) and Michael Philips (Michael.J.Phillips.179@nd.edu)

Buyside

Students will compare and contrast economies of major countries (eg. USA, China, etc.) and will utilize creative thinking to view countries as investment opportunities. This project will be work-intensive and culminates with a trip to San Diego.

Cardinal Health

Meeting Time: Mondays at 8:00pm in Debartolo 136

Project Leaders: David Seo (mseo@nd.edu) and Rusty Landon (jlandon1@nd.edu)

Cardinal Health

In this project, students will put themselves in the position of the CFO of Cardinal Health in making corporate finance decisions. The project will travel to Chicago.

Credit Suisse

Meeting Time: Mondays at 6:30pm in Debartolo 136

Project Leaders: Logan Hoff (lhoff@nd.edu ) and Brennan McGovern (bmcgove2@nd.edu)

Credit Suisse

Participants will act as investment banking analysts seeking to take a company public. Participants will construct a pitchbook describing investment highlights, risk factors, and valuation. Valuation will include discounted cash flow and multiples analysis

Deutsche Bank

Meeting Time: Mondays at 7:00pm in Debartolo 136

Project Leaders: Yuchen Zou (yzou1@nd.edu) and Matt Herzog (mherzog@nd.edu)

Deutsche Bank

An activist investor has recently taken a significant stake in a publicly traded company. Participants will act as the company’s trusted advisor and prepare strategic alternatives. Students will be responsible for developing these strategic alternatives based on company and industry research, an in-depth valuation exercise (comparable company/transaction analysis, DCF, and LBO), and M&A outlook. The project will conclude with a presentation to Deutsche Bank investment bankers.

GCM Grosvenor

Meeting Time: Mondays at 8:30pm in Debartolo 129

Project Leaders: Adam Brutocao (abrutoc1@nd.edu) and Griffin Baker (gbaker3@nd.edu)

GCM Grosvenor

Participants will engage in an analysis of potential hedge funds across a variety of industries. This project is designed to put students in the shoes of an portfolio manager at GCM Grosvenor.  Students will ultimately choose a hedge fund to invest in and travel to Chicago to present their findings.

Goldman Sachs - Corporate Strategic Advisory

Meeting Time: Mondays at TBD in Debartolo 129

Project Leaders: Ann Marie Niro (aniro@nd.edu) and Francesca Ventura (fventura@nd.edu)

Goldman Sachs - Corporate Strategic Advisory

Intended to provide students with a birds-eye view of main investment banking product offerings. Explore different strategic options to unlock value from an undervalued company. Topics include: Leveraged Finance, Merger and Acquisition, Structured Finance and Securitization

  • Applications are required, as there are a limited number of competitive spots available.

GTCR

Meeting Time: Team 1: Mondays at 6:00pm, Debartolo 136; Team 2: Mondays at 6:30pm, Debartolo 129

Project Leaders: Team 1: Ryan Lynch (rlynch3@nd.edu), Tyler Christian (Tyler.Christian.21@nd.edu), Danny Willet (dwillett@nd.edu); Team 2: Nick Rice (nrice@nd.edu) and Jake Hohlweg (Jakob.W.Hohlweg.1@nd.edu);

GTCR

Participants will act as associates in a private equity fund seeking to perform a heavily debt-financed leverage buyout of a public company. Teams will first examine companies, trends, and characteristics of the industry before the target buyout company is chosen. The target company will be valued using discounted cash flow modeling, precedent transactions, and comparable company trading multiples. The final step of the project will be creating a leverage buyout model and an investment recommendation for GTCR.

Houlihan Lokey

Meeting Time: Mondays at 8:30pm in Debartolo 138

Project Leaders: Chris Weiland (cweilan1@nd.edu), Luke Reilly (lreilly@nd.edu), and Zach Stump (zstump@nd.edu)

Houlihan Lokey

Project offers an in-depth look in to the analysis related to advising distressed companies. Students will think critically and use their financial analysis in different ways to identify the most appropriate strategic alternative for the company moving forward. Students will evaluate various strategies from the perspective of all relevant stakeholders, such as managers, owners, and creditors

JP Morgan

Meeting Time: Mondays at 7:30pm in Debartolo 138

Project Leaders: Phil Rim (prim@nd.edu) and Liam Li (tli6@nd.edu)

JP Morgan

Participants will act as investment management analysts responsible for a diversified equity portfolio. The project will include coverage of portfolio management techniques through hedging across multiple verticals. Valuation work will include discounted cash flow and multiples analysis. The project will be traveling to New York City.

LaSalle Real Estate Private Equity

Meeting Time: Mondays at 6:00pm in Debartolo 138

Project Leaders: Paul Tompkins (Paul.A.Tompkins.11@nd.edu) and Jake Randle

LaSalle Real Estate Private Equity

Members will work directly with LaSalle Investment Management to conduct research, analyze financial statements, and prepare a presentation, evaluating the current landscape of a hypothetical real estate investment. Members will gain an understanding of the U.S. and international real estate markets. Valuation will be incorporated in the analysis.

Morgan Stanley

Meeting Time: Mondays at 7:00pm in Debartolo 129

Project Leaders: Lauren Weetman (lweetman@nd.edu) and John Cresson (jcresson@nd.edu)

Morgan Stanley

Two teams of students will be selected to serve as financial advisors to the two respective merger parties. Each team presents to its respective client that broadly discusses the companies’ performance and position. Ultimately, the advantages and considerations regarding a potential merger and valuation.

Students will present to Morgan Stanley professionals. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame Students and simulates the work that Morgan Stanley would do for a legitimate client.

  • Applications are required, as there are a limited number of competitive spots available.

Morningstar

Meeting Time: Mondays at 7:30pm in Debartolo 136

Project Leaders: James Campion (jcampion@nd.edu) and Dan Delfico (ddelfico@nd.edu)

Morningstar

Morningstar is a market leader in investment research. This project takes students through valuation methods in determining buy, sell, or hold guidance on a stock and will consist of a blend of quantitative and qualitative analysis.

The project will culminate in a presentation to Morningstar in Chicago. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame Students and simulates the work that Morningstar would do in creating their equity research.

RCM Alternatives

Meeting Time: Mondays at 9:00pm in Debartolo 138

Project Leaders: Andrew Franke (afranke@nd.edu) and Chris Nowicki (cnowicki@nd.edu)

RCM Alternatives

Members will simulate a quantitative investment experience by building out a factor model used for trading and risk management. Through industry and company research, members will identify major drivers of share price performance. Members will ultimately build a factor model to identify profit opportunities 

Students will travel to RCM Alternative’s Chicago office to present and defend their findings. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame Students and will not be used for any trading of real funds.

Robert W. Baird - M&A

Meeting Time: Mondays at 8:30pm in Debartolo 136

Project Leaders: Kevin Pavlacic (kpavlaci@nd.edu) and Madeline Prister (mpriste1@nd.edu)

Robert W. Baird - M&A

Participants will analyze a potential merger or acquisition. The project will consist of a blend of quantitative and qualitative analysis from equity research and investment banking. Topics will range from simple company overviews to advanced modeling, group members will learn plenty, regardless of their experience level.

Students will present to Robert W. Baird in the Chicago office. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame Students and simulates the advisory services that Baird would present to a client.

William Blair

Meeting Time: Mondays at 8:00pm in Debartolo 138

Project Leaders: Matthew Bulgarelli (mbulgare@nd.edu) and JD McEleney jmcelenn@nd.edu)

William Blair

Participants will apply qualitative and quantitative valuation techniques to analyze a hypothetical merger between two companies. Students will be guided by bankers at William Blair in order to better understand the M&A process and associated components. Students will travel to William Blair headquarters in Chicago to present their analysis. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame students and simulates the advisory services that Blair would present to a client.