Social Entrepreneurship

Director: Katarina Kurtts
E-mail: Katarina.S.Kurtts.1@nd.edu

Mission

To create social awareness and promote development in impoverished communities around the world through projects that deliver innovative business solutions to communities’ most fundamental problems.

Spring 2017 Projects

Alivia Capital

Meeting Time: Tuesdays at 8:30pm in DeBartolo 231

Project Leaders: Jesus Barker (jbarker2@nd.edu) and Zihao Xiong (zihao.xiong.5@nd.edu)

Develop an extensive business plan for a Mexico-based VC and private equity company focused on the healthcare industry. Alivia will potentially pursue the investment that students propose. 

Google PEPY

Meeting Time: Tuesdays at 6:00pm in DeBartolo 231

Project Leaders: Yi Fan (yfan1@nd.edu) and Dane Jeong (djeong@nd.edu)

Google PEPY

Team members will use SEO (search engine optimization) to drive the Cambodian non-profit PEPY's site traffic. They will also determine and implement other means of digital marketing to optimize traffic to Pepy's website and increase donations. The project culminates in a presentation at Google's Chicago office.

Montana De Luz with McKinsey & Company

Meeting Time: Tuesdays at 7:30pm in DeBartolo 231

Project Leaders: Lauren Jones (lauren.b.jones.439@nd.edu) and Raechel Kiesel (rkiesel@nd.edu)

Montana De Luz with McKinsey & Company

Assist developing and implementing a business plan for an orphanage in Honduras for kids that are HIV positive. The orphanage is struggling to sustain itself for positive reasons (the HIV positive children are living longer lives with new medications) and Montaña de Luz would greatly appreciate your contribution. The presentation location will be in Chicago with a McKinsey consultant.