Accounting

Director: Ethan Shi
E-mail: yshi6@nd.edu

Mission

To give SIBC members the opportunity to put their ‘class-learned’ or ‘self-researched’ accounting theory into challenging real world accounting applications. Members have the chance to cultivate skills to deal with accounting issues that affect the business world, while building professional relationships with corporate leaders.

Spring 2019 Projects

BDO

Meeting Time: Wednesdays at 6:00 PM in Debartolo 213

Project Leaders: Kathryn Ebert (kebert@nd.edu) and Joshua Chapple (jchapple@nd.edu)

BDO

BDO is the fifth largest accounting and consulting network in the world with over 1,400 offices in over 135 countries. BDO provides service in accounting, audit, tax, and consulting. Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, BDO employs over 6,00 professionals in the US and over 67,000 worldwide. With a 9.6% yearly increase in revenue growth, BDO is continuing to expand as company and offer their high-quality service and dedication to an increasing number of clients. 

Deloitte

Meeting Time: Wednesdays at 7:00 PM in Debartolo 213

Project Leaders: Max Hilger (mhilger@nd.edu) and Billy McKee (wmckee@nd.edu)

Deloitte

Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Ltd. (Deloitte) is a UK private company with origins that date back to 1845. Now headquartered in New York City, Deloitte employs roughly 225,400 people in a network of offices located in more than 150 countries. Deloitte operates under a Swiss Verein structure; members are individual firms independent of one another. Each member firm of Deloitte is structured in accordance with the national laws, regulations and customary practices of the country it operates in. The company operates through five main service segments: auditing, consulting, tax and legal, financial advisory and enterprise risk services. Deloitte earned revenues of around $36.8bil in 2016 and expects to see revenue growth of 4.7% annually for the next five years. Deloitte provides services to 80% of Fortune 500 companies and is one of the “Big Four” accounting firms in America.

Ernst & Young

Meeting Time: Wednesdays at 6:30 PM in Debartolo 213

Project Leaders: Jade Collins (jcolli23@nd.edu) and Kendall Bulleit (kbulleit@nd.edu)

Ernst & Young

This case will be presented to one of the Big Four firms, EY, in April. This project offers a chance to develop a better understanding for obstacles dealt with in the public accounting world as well as opportunities to enhance professional skills. Additionally, it will allow students to network with a global, highly respected firm.

Grant Thornton

Meeting Time: Wednesdays at 6:30 PM in Debartolo 214

Project Leaders: Mark Moran (mmoran12@nd.edu) and Erik Ralph (eralph@nd.edu)

Grant Thornton

Grant Thornton is one of the world’s leading organizations in independent audit, tax, and advisory firms. They have offices all across the US as well as many international locations.

KPMG

Meeting Time: Wednesdays at 8:00 PM in Debartolo 213

Project Leaders: Max Downing (mdownin1@nd.edu) and Kate Rothmeyer (krothmey@nd.edu)

KPMG

KPMG is a large professional service company providing three lines of service: financial audit, tax, and advisory. Headquartered in Amstelveen, Netherlands, KPMG employs 189,000 people and serves a variety of clients around the world. One of the "Big Four" Auditors, KPMG is a highly respected company providing its clients with high quality service and advice.

PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC)

Meeting Time: Wednesdays at 7:30 PM in Debartolo 213

Project Leaders: Alban Dulaj (adulaj@nd.edu) and Dana Plagenz (dplagenz@nd.edu)

PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC)

As the second-largest professional service firm in the world, PwC provides its clients a wide rage of services including assurance, advisory, tax advisory, strategic consulting, data & analytics, management consulting, financial advisory, and legal. With headquarters in London and offices around the world, PwC serves clients worldwide. PwC has been ranked the most prestigious accounting firm in the world for seven consecutive years by Vault Accounting 50.