Finance

Director: Lauren Weetman
E-mail: lweetman@nd.edu

Director: John Cresson
E-mail: jcresson@nd.edu

Mission

To provide participants ample opportunities to apply financial valuation models in first hand, real world applications. Through project participation and dialogues with industry experts, members expand their financial lexicon, foster meaningful contacts, and develop essential business skills and professional etiquette from which to build a career.

Spring 2019 Projects

Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Meeting Time: Mondays at TBD

Project Leaders: Megan Baumbach (mbaumbac@nd.edu) and Allie Okon (aokon@nd.edu)

Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Students will conduct credit, financial, and market analyses, and evaluate three proposed LBO financing structures to support a Private Equity sponsor’s bid to take a company private. The project will be traveling to New York City. Applications are required, as there are a limited number of competitive spots available.

Bank of Montreal Capital Markets

Meeting Time: Mondays at 7:30 PM in Debartolo 136

Project Leaders: Andrew Weigman (aweigman@nd.edu) and Pat Meyer (pmeyer3@nd.edu)

Bank of Montreal Capital Markets

Participants will perform the job of a Leveraged Finance professional in the Investment Banking industry. Students will conduct credit, financial, and market analyses, and evaluate three proposed LBO financing structures to support a Private Equity sponsor’s bid to take a company private. The project will culminate in a presentation at BMO Capital Market’s Chicago office. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame Students and simulates the analysis that a Leveraged Finance banker would present to its Private Equity clients.

BTG Pactual

Meeting Time: Mondays at 6:30 PM in Debartolo 131

Project Leaders: Andre Meneghetti (ameneghe@nd.edu)

BTG Pactual

Students will evaluate a company through the lens of an equity research analyst. This project takes students through valuation methods in determining buy, sell, or hold guidance on a stock. At the end of the semester, team members will travel to New York to present their research and discoveries.

Buyside

Meeting Time: Mondays at 8:00 PM in Debartolo 136

Project Leaders: Maggie Rohling (mrohling@nd.edu) and Tommy Campbell (tcampbe5@nd.edu)

Buyside

Students will simulate the role of US negotiators in China/US trade talks. Will investigate the ramification of the trade war and consider what would happen if the negations fail. Participants will present to Frank Potenziani, the founder and benefactor of SIBC!

Credit Suisse

Meeting Time: Mondays at 7:00 PM in Debartolo 129

Project Leaders: Jake Eberhart (jeberha2@nd.edu) and Elizabeth Nichols (enichol4@nd.edu)

Credit Suisse

Students will conduct credit, financial, and market analyses, and evaluate three proposed LBO financing structures to support a Private Equity sponsor’s bid to take a company private. Ultimately, students will recommend a structure to professionals at Credit Suisse.

Deutsche Bank

Meeting Time: Mondays at 7:00 PM in Debartolo 131

Project Leaders: Tom Curran (tcurran5@nd.edu) and Jenny Wen (swen@nd.edu)

Deutsche Bank

Two teams of students will be selected to analyze and strategically advise the same client. Each team will conduct industry and company analyses and analyze different strategic alternatives for the company including but not limited to an equity or debt issuance, a sale of the company, and an acquisition. Each team will present the entire analysis to a team of bankers from Deutsche Bank in Chicago, but, ultimately, will recommend only one solution.

GCM Grosvenor

Meeting Time: Mondays at 8:30 PM in Debartolo 131

Project Leaders: Sean Gay (sgay@nd.edu) and Garrett Smith (gsmith19@nd.edu)

GCM Grosvenor

Participants will engage in an analysis of potential hedge funds across a variety of industries. This project is designed to put students in the shoes of an portfolio manager at GCM Grosvenor.  Students will ultimately choose a hedge fund to invest in and travel to Chicago to present their findings.

Goldman Sachs

Meeting Time: Mondays at TBD

Project Leaders: Reilly Lanigan (rlanigan@nd.edu) and Emma Lowry (elowry@nd.edu)

Goldman Sachs

Two teams of students will be selected to analyze and strategically advise the same client. Each team will conduct industry and company analyses and analyze different strategic alternatives for the company including but not limited to an equity or debt issuance, a sale of the company, and an acquisition. Each team will present the entire analysis to a team of bankers from Goldman Sachs in New York, but, ultimately, will recommend only one solution. After each team presents, the two teams will engage in a debate in which they argue the merits of their solution, while discussing flaws in the other's.

GTCR

Meeting Time: Team 1: Mondays at 8:00 PM in Debartolo 129 & Team 2: Mondays at 7:30 PM in Debartolo 129

Project Leaders: Team 1: Janne Fuss (jfuss@nd.edu), Niko Martinovic (nmarti10@nd.edu), and Caleb Chamberlain (Caleb.Chamberlain.19@nd.edu) & Team 2: Chris Skomra (cskomra@nd.edu), Ben Coles (wcoles@nd.edu), and Alex Kruszewski (akrusze1@nd.edu)

GTCR

Participants will act as associates in a private equity fund seeking to perform a heavily debt-financed leverage buyout of a public company. Teams will first examine companies, trends, and characteristics of the industry before the target buyout company is chosen. The target company will be valued using discounted cash flow modeling, precedent transactions, and comparable company trading multiples. The final step of the project will be creating a leverage buyout model and an investment recommendation for GTCR.

Houlihan Lokey

Meeting Time: Mondays at 7:00 PM in Debartolo 136

Project Leaders: Sam Chen (schen11@nd.edu) and Jonny Botek (jbotek@nd.edu/a>)

Houlihan Lokey

Project offers an in-depth look in to the analysis related to advising distressed companies. Students will think critically and use their financial analysis in different ways to identify the most appropriate strategic alternative for the company moving forward. Students will evaluate various strategies from the perspective of all relevant stakeholders, such as managers, owners, and creditors.

JP Morgan

Meeting Time: Mondays at 8:30 PM in Debartolo 129

Project Leaders: Jade Moss (jmoss1@nd.edu) and Chris Lachenauer (clachena@nd.edu)

JP Morgan

Participants will act as investment management analysts responsible for a diversified equity portfolio. The project will include coverage of portfolio management techniques through hedging across multiple verticals. Valuation work will include discounted cash flow and multiples analysis. The project will be traveling to New York City.

LaSalle Investment Management

Meeting Time: Mondays at 8:30 PM in Debartolo 136

Project Leaders: Annie Masciopinto (amasciop@nd.edu) and Pat Iannelli (piannell@nd.edu)

LaSalle Investment Management

Participants will work with firm contacts to evaluate a potential real estate holding for LaSalle’s portfolio.

Leerink

Meeting Time: Mondays at 6:30 PM in Debartolo 136

Project Leaders: Ryan Boylan (rboylan@nd.edu) and Alina Song (jsong3@nd.edu)

Leerink

One team of students will be selected to analyze a potential initial public offering (IPO) for a selected "client". The presentation will include the creation of a prospectus summary (which will cover an overview of the Company and its strategy), a valuation analysis using various methodologies, an overview of the current state of the equity capital markets, and ultimately a recommendation on whether and at what valuation to proceed with the IPO. The team will travel to New York to present their analysis to Leerink's Equity Capital Markets team and senior management.

Maranon

Meeting Time: Mondays at 9:00 PM in Debartolo 131

Project Leaders: JD McElenney (jmcelenn@nd.edu) and Matt Bugarelli (Matthew.D.Bulgarelli.1@nd.edu)

Maranon

One team of students will analyze a private company and will responsible for evaluating the credit and deciding if it is a worthwhile investment, and proposing a capital structure that would be an attractive investment from Maranon’s perspective. The project would culminate in the presentation of a ~20 slide credit memo to members of the Maranon investment team in their offices in Chicago.

Morgan Stanley

Meeting Time: Mondays at TBD

Project Leaders: MK Noelke (mnoelke1@nd.edu) and Tim Burger (tburger3@nd.edu)

Morgan Stanley

Two teams of students will each pitch a potential merger target for a selected "client." The presentation will include but is not limited to industry analysis, company analysis for both target and bidder, strategic rationale, synergy analysis, and an operating and M&A model. The teams will travel to New York to present their M&A analysis to a team of Morgan Stanley Bankers.

Morningstar

Meeting Time: Mondays at 6:00 PM in Debartolo 131

Project Leaders: Hank Borda (hborda@nd.edu) and Owen Donnelly (odonnel1@nd.edu)

Morningstar

Morningstar is a market leader in investment research. This project takes students through valuation methods in determining buy, sell, or hold guidance on a stock and will consist of a blend of quantitative and qualitative analysis. The project will culminate in a presentation to Morningstar in Chicago. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame Students and simulates the work that Morningstar would do in creating their equity research.

PJT Partners

Meeting Time: Mondays at 6:30 PM in Debartolo 129

Project Leaders: Kevin Sohr (ksohr@nd.edu)

PJT Partners

One team of students will serve as debtor advisors to a distressed company and recommend strategic alternatives. Presentation materials will include capital structure analysis, liquidity forecasts, key debt document insights, and potential transactions for the company. The project will also include traditional company and industry analysis and valuation techniques. The team will present its findings to a team of restructuring advisors from PJT Partners in New York.

PWP

Meeting Time: Mondays at 6:00 PM in Debartolo 129

Project Leaders: Jack Peacock (jpeacoc1@nd.edu) and Zach Pavlin (zpavlin@nd.edu)

PWP

One team of students will be asked to evaluate a potential LBO transaction involving Arconic along with supporting analysis for a standalone value of the company to determine what takeover transaction price per share Arconic would be willing to accept. Additionally, teams will be tasked with evaluating different transaction structures including a potential divestiture of the Building and Construction Systems segment and associated liabilities to identify a value maximizing structure for shareholders. Teams will present their recommendation and analysis to Perella Weinberg Partners professionals at the Chicago office.

RCM Alternatives

Meeting Time: Mondays at 9:00 PM in Debartolo 136

Project Leaders: Kieran Wurl (kwurl@nd.edu) and Sean Baker (sbaker8@nd.edu)

RCM Alternatives

Members will simulate a quantitative investment experience by building out a factor model used for trading and risk management. Through industry and company research, members will identify major drivers of share price performance. Members will ultimately build a factor model to identify profit opportunities. Students will travel to RCM Alternative’s Chicago office to present and defend their findings. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame Students and will not be used for any trading of real funds.

Robert W. Baird

Meeting Time: Mondays at 7:30 PM in Debartolo 131

Project Leaders: Theresa Shaff (tshaff@nd.edu) and Brian Zenni (bzenni@nd.edu)

Robert W. Baird

Participants will analyze a potential merger or acquisition. The project will consist of a blend of quantitative and qualitative analysis from equity research and investment banking. Topics will range from simple company overviews to advanced modeling, group members will learn plenty, regardless of their experience level. Students will present to Robert W. Baird in the Chicago office. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame Students and simulates the advisory services that Baird would present to a client.

William Blair

Meeting Time: Mondays at 8:00 PM in Debartolo 131

Project Leaders: Sean Carney (scarney3@nd.edu) and Katie Jacoby kjacoby1@nd.edu)

William Blair

Participants will apply qualitative and quantitative valuation techniques to analyze a hypothetical merger between two companies. Students will be guided by bankers at William Blair in order to better understand the M&A process and associated components. Students will travel to William Blair headquarters in Chicago to present their analysis. This presentation is intended for the education of Notre Dame students and simulates the advisory services that Blair would present to a client.