Social Entrepreneurship

Director: Bruce Morris
E-mail: bmorris6@nd.edu

Director: Sam Cannova
E-mail: scannova@nd.edu

Mission

To create social awareness and promote development in impoverished communities around the world through projects that deliver innovative business solutions to communities’ most fundamental problems.

Spring 2019 Projects

BOSCO Social Enterprise in Uganda

Meeting Time: Tuesdays at 7:00 PM in Debartolo 213

Project Leaders: Emily Albi (ealbi@nd.edu) and Katherine Eichler (keichler@nd.edu)

BOSCO Social Enterprise in Uganda

BOSCO-Uganda is a non-profit organization that promotes education and computer literacy through a network of 32 ICT & Development Centers in remote locations across Northern Uganda. BOSCO also engages in meeting Uganda’s growing needs of energy by installing and operating sustainable solar energy systems while supporting entrepreneurial activities through BOSCO’s own ecosystem for economic development and poverty reduction. BOSCO’s mission is to empower communities in post-conflict Uganda through dialog, education and economic development. This semester’s project will involve collecting, curating, and archiving ancestral data for citizens in Uganda, tackling data governance and IT management issues along the way. Additionally, the team will collaborate with Accenture’s Development Partnership, allowing participants the opportunity to network and present to Accenture consultants in Chicago.

Boys and Girls Club of St. Joseph County

Meeting Time: Tuesdays at 8:00 PM in Debartolo 214

Project Leaders: Katie Lewis (klewis12@nd.edu) and Brian Xie (bxie@nd.edu)

Boys and Girls Club of St. Joseph County

This project will be a year-long endeavor, divided into two distinct, semester-long phases. B&GC is currently struggling with employee retention and engagement. During Phase I (Fall 2018), students will further diagnose the problem with provided company information, then design an employee survey measuring KPIs for successful employee engagement. Phase II (Spring 2019) involves students proposing solutions to fix the client problem as delineated in the survey. Throughout the semester, students will be receiving feedback from consultants at a top American consulting firm, presenting their final draft deliverable at their Chicago offices. They will then present their final solution to the Directors of the Boys & Girls Club of St. Joseph County.

IrishAngels Investment Group

Meeting Time: Tuesdays at 6:00 PM in Debartolo 214

Project Leaders: James Irwin (jirwin3@nd.edu) and Claire Sofronas (csofrona@nd.edu)

IrishAngels Investment Group

IrishAngels is a Chicago-based angel investment group focusing on promising, early-seed, or Series A start-ups in which a founder, board member, or active investor has a Notre Dame connection (alumni, parent, faculty, staff etc.) Founded in 2012, IrishAngels has grown to include over 210 investors and issues funds of up to $3 million. Their industries of interest are internet and mobile, medical, social enterprise, software (cloud and enterprise), and “special markets” (retail, B2B services, and more).

Montana De Luz with McKinsey & Company

Meeting Time: Tuesdays at 7:00 PM in Debartolo 214

Project Leaders: Clare Oatway (coatway@nd.edu) and Ragan Sernel (rsernel@nd.edu)

Montana De Luz with McKinsey & Company

Montaña de Luz is a faith-based nonprofit in Honduras seeking to provide orphans living with HIV/AIDS the medical, emotional, educational, and spiritual support required to empower them to live life to the fullest. Due to recent medical breakthroughs in retro-viral solutions, the children are now living well into adulthood, placing newfound pressure on the resources and staff of Montaña de Luz. This semester, students will research potential strategic partners for Montaña de Luz with advice from a McKinsey & Co. consultant. At the conclusion of the project, a travel team will visit the McKinsey offices in Chicago to collaborate with consultants on how to enact and improve upon their work.

TeachForAmerica

Meeting Time: Tuesdays at 9:00 PM in Debartolo 214

Project Leaders: Hannah Nelson (hnelson1@nd.edu) and Ryan Vazza (rvazza@nd.edu)

TeachForAmerica

Founded upon the belief of equality’s importance in all facets of life, TeachForAmerica not only seeks to provide underserved communities with access to quality education, but transforms participating teachers into the leaders of tomorrow, paving the path toward tackling educational inequality at the systematic level. This semester’s project will design and test multiple innovative marketing strategies on campus for TFA to improve recruiting efforts and increase applications from top-tier universities. The final travel team will then present their idea to TFA executives in Chicago.