Fall 2018

BOSCO social enterprise in Uganda

Meeting Time: Wednesdays at 6:00pm in Debartolo 205

Project Leaders: Emily Albi (ealbi@nd.edu) and Dhruv Chempakasseril (dchempak@nd.edu)

BOSCO social enterprise in Uganda

Assist developing a business plan for ancestral heritage work that is being conducted in Northern Uganda. Project to involve market research, business implementation, and contact with Ugandan students/entrepreneurs. 

 

Boys and Girls Club of St. Joseph County

Meeting Time: Mondays at 6:00pm in DeBartolo 204

Project Leaders: Godsee Joy (gjoy@nd.edu) and Brian Xie (bxie@nd.edu)

Boys and Girls Club of St. Joseph County

This project will be a year-long endeavor, divided into two distinct, semester-long phases. B&GC is currently struggling with employee retention and engagement. During Phase I, students will further diagnose the problem with provided company information, then design an employee survey measuring KPIs for successful employee engagement. Phase II involves students proposing solutions to fix the client problem as delineated in the survey.

 

Throughout the semester, students will be receiving feedback from consultants at a top American consulting firm, presenting their final draft deliverable at their Chicago offices. They will then present their final solution to the Directors of the Boys & Girls Club of St. Joseph Country.

IrishAngels Investment Group

Meeting Time: Tuesdays at 8:00pm in DeBartolo 136

Project Leaders: Jack Kenter (jkenter@nd.edu) and Cindy Wenyi Wu (wwu5@nd.edu)

IrishAngels Investment Group

IrishAngels is a Chicago-based angel investment group focusing on promising, early-seed or Series A start-ups in which a founder, Board member, or active investor has a Notre Dame connection (alumni, parent, faculty, staff etc.) Founded in 2012, IrishAngels has grown to include over 210 investors and issues funds of up to $3 million.

 

Their industries of interest are internet and mobile, medical, social enterprise, software (cloud and enterprise), and “special markets” (retail, B2B services, etc.) Participating students will research and propose a social enterprise start-up in which IrishAngels could invest. A travel team will then present the findings at IrishAngels’ offices in Chicago, having their ideas and findings critiqued by current venture capitalists.

 

Montana De Luz with McKinsey & Company

Meeting Time: Mondays at 9:00pm in DeBartolo 210

Project Leaders: Clare Oatway (coatway@nd.edu) and Ragan Sernel (rsernel@nd.edu)

Montana De Luz with McKinsey & Company

Assist developing and implementing a business plan for an orphanage in Honduras for kids who are HIV positive. The orphanage is struggling to sustain itself for positive reasons (the HIV positive children are living longer lives with new medications) and Montaña de Luz would greatly appreciate your contribution. The presentation location will likely be in Chicago with a McKinsey consultant.

PEPY and Google

Meeting Time: Tuesdays at 7:00pm in DeBartolo 136

Project Leaders: Francis Schickel (fschicke@nd.edu) and Matt Rutty (mrutty@nd.edu)

PEPY and Google

SEO (search engine optimization) project to drive the Cambodian non-profit PEPY's site traffic. The goal for this semester is to facilitate more interaction with the social enterprise PEPY (http://pepyempoweringyouth.org). The presentation will be in Google's Chicago office. 

TeachForAmerica

Meeting Time: Tuesdays at 9:00pm in Debartolo 136

Project Leaders: Hannah Nelson (hnelson1@nd.edu) and Meghan Sullivan (Meghan.A.Sullivan.375@nd.edu)

TeachForAmerica

Founded upon the belief of equality’s importance in all facets of life, TeachForAmerica not only seeks to provide underserved communities with access to quality education, but transforms participating teachers into the leaders of tomorrow, paving the path toward tackling educational inequality at the systematic level.

Collaborating with the SIBC Marketing Division, this semester’s project will design an innovative marketing strategy for TFA to improve recruiting efforts and increase applications from top-tier universities.

The final travel team will then present their idea to TFA executives in Chicago, followed by a networking event with TFA alumni in various corporate, legal, and educational positions to learn of their experiences.